Quick Sum Up Of: The Sims 3

Seeing as I’ve been absent from this blog for a while I thought I’d just give two or three quick sum ups of stuff I should have already said.

Reviews
PC Gamer UK’s one by Graham Smith
Eurogamer’s one by Alec Meer

My thoughts? Its the same Sims with a fancy system for keeping the whole game in one loading screen. Don’t get me wrong it makes for a great game. I’m just not that hooked. I know the traits and the town mechanics are shiny but they feel just like more of the obvious good next step, not a innovation. Let me put it this way. If Sims one and two were never released and this was a original then I think the game would have been released nearly exactly as it is now. It would also have been released with more content as they wouldn’t be as adept at withholding fun ideas so they could sell it as a essential expansion later on. Even if they give you “1000 free sims points if you register now!” that you can spend on extras that been on sale since the game starts I still get angry that some poor sod has already accidentally spent money on a new hairstyle (even I was forced to spend 75 odd points a new hairstyle for my girl character seeing as there was a absolute atrocious lack of nice looking hair styles)

I haven’t played the Sims since the fifth day after its release. This is because I wasn’t hooked. I honestly did enjoy running my household of evilness. I just get game lethargy for any game after about a week. Only the best of the best have kept my attention for a long time. I don’t think of that as a issue.

The Sims is bigger stronger and newer than before (again). That’s not a bad thing. No matter who you are. Its bringing casual people into the realm of gaming, even if this is the only game they play. Its giving the current simmers exactly what they want. Its also giving gaming a nice happy family friendly face.The image of your girlfriend/sister/mum staying up until midnight tweaking their little sims favourite colour has a much better look then that of the twelve year old boy staying up until midnight playing wow. Take what you want from that but its true.

I’m neithre saying one should be more socially acceptable just that at the moment it looks that way.

Oh and roBurky’s Alice and Kev is quite good too.

Just thought I might  as well contribute to his success a bit too you know?

I think that’s enough for now. Sims 3 = good thing.

Lambo

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

